Lunch, Al Fresco Style !!

Wednesday 10th June (Day 90 of 236)

We awoke to yet another day here on the North Eastern Coast, the past few days had seen us having some very warm sunny days, albeit with a bit of a strong wind, however, today was different, yes the sun was shining again, but the only white marks scarring an otherwise perfect azure blue sky were the three vapour trails from Aircraft that were long gone on their journey’s to who knows where, the strong wind had been replaced by a light breeze and it actually felt warm standing outside Big Momma.

Before we could start to enjoy our period of free time there was a little matter of having the morning to work, however, it passed quickly. It seemed that everything was to be in our favour, even the safe crossing times across the causeway to ‘Holy Island‘ were good for both afternoons that we were off. We decided that we would leave that ‘Expedition’ until our full day off, so what to do with our afternoon ? We decided to have lunch first and then spend the afternoon at a local beach about a fifteen minute drive away from the site, but in the short time it had taken for me to change out of my ‘Elf’ attire, Shazza had put together a picnic and I was instructed to make the flask of coffee, we, it would appear, we’re going to have ‘Lunch, Al Fresco Style‘.

The reclining sun chairs were placed in ‘Wuxly’s’ boot, check, the Rucksack containing Eatables and Beverage on back seat, check, Camera around one’s neck’, check, all present and correct, off we went. It was a short drive and once at our destination we had soonΒ commandeered our small part of this quite long and wide stretch of sandy beach, we marked our territory by positioning chairs in our carefully selected position. The picnic lunch didn’t last long, there is only one thing faster than scavenging seagulls and that is a hungry Eric and Shazza !! Shazza settled down and read a book, not an E-Book on her Kindle or iPad but a proper physical book, I on the other hand, leaned backwards into my chair and it glided slowly into the almost horizontal position. With my eyes shut I could feel the warmth of the sun on my face, that was a nice feeling, I could hear the sound of the waves gently breaking onto the sandy shoreline and I could hear the unobtrusive sounds of the gulls as they flew along the edge of the breaking surf, on the lookout for small crustaceans washed up on the tide, it was such a relaxing feeling that I was soon in half slumber, half daydream mode. At first, my thoughts went straight back to work mode, jobs that needed to be done, Dougie and I shared the groundwork tasks but occasionally we would identify our own little projects and just got on with them unless other tasks took precedence. But whether it was the heat of the sun or the other seaside sounds my daydreams turned to flashbacks from places and events during our last Winter trip. In my mind I was back in Portugal, in ‘Kevin’ the Kayak on the Barragem, then at Falesia Beach, Seville, the boat trip on the Lagoon in Morocco and yes, even in my dreams I re-lived the horror of the fuel contamination incident. But for the life of me I cannot recall or understand why my daydreams should include the sound of a pig, perhaps it was the subliminal thought of ‘Iberico’ Pork. I was brought out of my daydreaming by a sharp and violent poke in my rib cage and informed by my beloved that I was snoring !!

Time for a coffee I thought and then, with Shazza’s head still stuck well and truly into her novel, I decided that my camera and I should go for a walk !!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I love walking near the sea, especially on the sand, I find it very calming and relaxing and time has no significance, however, I knew I had been away for some time and out of sight of my keeper, although, and as I had suspected, she was still reading her book when I returned and hadn’t felt the need to worry or alert the Coastguard !! However, the breeze we had enjoyed earlier had started to increase so as time was knocking on we finished the remnants that remained in our flask then packed away and returned to ‘Big Momma’. It had been a lovely and peaceful afternoon, our energy batteries had been re-charged and we were looking forward to a good nights sleep before our eagerly awaited adventure to ‘Holy Island’……………

This entry was posted in Elf and Elfette - Season 2. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lunch, Al Fresco Style !!

  1. anteater says:

    Really super beach(es) Eric! I have started to feel relaxed reading about your half-day out! Looking forward to reading about some more “time off” expeditions. I have been planning out our November trip down with the caravan – thought I’d better get on with that before doing some research for our return to Calabria in late August. The budget is seriously stretched!!

    • Thanks Jean, all the photographs were taken on the same beach !! Pleased you were able to unwind and relax from reading the blog post, you can probably imagine just how we felt at being there 😎 Good to hear you are now in planning mode as it helps with the excitement of looking forward to the trip πŸ‘πŸ»

  2. tomhope2421 says:

    It seems you had a lovely afternoon out, as you say, the sun on your face, the wind through your hair and listening to the sea breaking on to the shoreline……….absolute bliss. πŸ˜ƒ

    • I know that you and Jo will appreciate how we felt at getting away from the site for a little while, it was also nice to have the warmth of the sunshine without the chill factor 😎 Looking forward to hearing some positive news from you next week πŸ‘

  3. Debs says:

    How Beautiful,,,,,,,, Fantastic photos Eric πŸ™‚
    I could do with being there. after 14 years of being on Swindon council housing list they have offered a brand new 3 bedroom house on the outskirts of west Swindon we went to look at it Tuesday and were officially offered it and we are moving in under 2 weeks Arggghhhhhhhh Chaos !!!

  4. How do you photograph the birds flying????? I just get the sky and nothing else.

    • πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ The honest answer Bill is simply luck, that particular bird was just soaring on the thermal so it was simple enough to focus in on it, the second photo was the best out of about ten that I tried to take !!

  5. shawnandemma says:

    Great photos, glad your making the most of those non work times. We’re looking forward to some long sandy beaches. The good thing is time off seems to come round very quick, so you know that means the season is heading the right way. Are you ticking the days off till you leave, or will you just let it suprise you when you’ve two weeks left.

    Been very busy of late but allways find the time to read and enjoy the blog. Enjoy the sun, we most certainly deserve it, long may it continue.
    Shawn.

    • Thanks guys πŸ‘ Are we counting down the days you ask ? Perhaps you didn’t notice at the start of my blog I state what day it is e.g. day 90 of 236 πŸ˜„πŸ˜‚ We find that we live for each bit of time off but then they go so quickly !! It is easier physiologically to think of how many pay days are left πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

Leave a Reply

