“I Don’t Believe It “

For those of you who are familiar with British Comedy TV you will recognise the immortal words as uttered by Victor Meldrew in One Foot In The Grave…………. “I Don’t Believe It ” and I make no apologies for ‘borrowing’ his catchphrase, although my use of those words are more in disbelief at the momentous lifestyle change that we are about to undertake. Disposing of ‘All’ our worldly possessions which we have just spent 40 years acquiring is one of those decisions that we can only hope is the right one ? But also some additional disbelief that only 3 years ago when we acquired ‘Big Momma’, retirement was still a mere event on a horizon that was 12 years away ! Although there have been a number of discussions about revising the date of our retirement even bringing it forward by 5 years, this was more hopeful than confidently realistic. So it is with very big grins on our faces to be able to now say that retirement has been brought forward by 9 years and our encounter into the unknown world of Fulltiming is a mere 81 days away……………..”I Don’t Believe It” We have managed to sell our house in record time (Subject to Contract), just 16 days from when it went on the market……….. Yes another one of those “I Don’t Believe It ” moments. Now all we have to do is dispose of ‘everything’ in the house, and the garage, and the shed ! The kids were given first choice at putting their names on items that they either needed or wanted and wasted no time in removing some of those said items with an uncomfortable haste. But bless them, who can blame them when we have just told them (under stifled chuckles) that their anticipated inheritance doesn’t actually exist any longer ! Other family members have also placed their bids but still this leaves us with an awful lot of tat cherished items to dispose of. Where on earth did all of these things come from ? …………. “I Just Don’t Believe It”.  All I can say is thank goodness for ‘Car Boot’ sales and those convenient Internet Web Sites. However, amongst all of this personal activity there is a little matter of the ‘day jobs’. Shazza has just 2 more school weeks to go before she becomes a ‘retiree’, or as she calls it, “A kept woman” but I have a little over 11 weeks to keep bringing home the bacon !! So there is quite a lot of co-ordination to ensure that we are ready to hand over the house keys. The clock is ticking at an alarming speed and before we know it we will become people of ‘No Fixed Abode’, jobless and living in what is effectively a plastic box on wheels, albeit a rather luxurious box on wheels I may add. I dare say, it will probably not be until we have been ‘on the road’ for a month or two, before we start to miss some of those things associated with our former ‘conventional’ lifestyle, and of course the kids. What I do know is that there will also be lots of things that we will not miss, one of those things for me will be………..

mail

“The dreaded London Underground”

This entry was posted in Where it all started ?. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “I Don’t Believe It “

  1. coolasluck says:

    hello eric

  2. alan says:

    hello shazza ,dont let eric know i have found you .xx alan

    • Oh No ! I guess you are more proficient with technology that you have led us to believe. Welcome aboard matey ! I know from our discussions that you are not a big Blog follower so feel honoured that you have taken the time to at least look at our’s, thank you and we hope you enjoy the future posts when we get on the road and start travelling and of course don’t forget to set those extra 2 spaces at the Christmas Dinner table somewhere in Spain !

  3. coolasluck says:

    Hello alan fancy seeing you here lol

    you have to watch that one shazza.
    At least i will know how to find you if you go missing at times,and you know where we are if you have any problems or need help matey

    • Thanks Coola, I hope that we can keep in touch just for social reasons and keeping a check on where we all are and meeting up on the road somewhere. However, it is also nice to know that there is assistance and advice if ever needed.

  4. coolasluck says:

    I wasnt talking to you eric i was talking to shazza lol lol

  5. Amigo says:

    we’re all here in one shape or another 😉

  6. Elwood says:

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site.

    He was once totally right. This submit actually made my day.
    You can not believe simply how so much time I had spent for this information!
    Thank you!

  7. I blog often and I really appreciate your information.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I will take a note of your website and
    keep checking for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  8. Janna says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  9. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would
    definitely benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Many thanks!

  10. I am extremely impressed along with your writing skills as neatly as with the format to your blog.

    Is this a paid subject or did you modify it your self?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to
    see a great blog like this one today..

Leave a Reply

